Asian Chicken Lettuce Wraps

My family loves P.F. Chang’s Lettuce Wraps, I can remember the very first time I ever had them. I was around 8 and we were visiting friends in Colorado. I remember my girlfriends and I using our chop sticks as drum sticks (much to the dismay of our parents) while we were waiting for the wraps to come out.  With our love of P.F. Chang’s and not having one close by to our new home, I knew I had to come up with a recipe.  Hope you enjoy my version of the wraps as much as we did! 🙂

Chicken Lettuce Wraps via LashesandDashes

Ingredients
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 pound ground chicken
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 onion, diced finely
1/4 cup hoisin sauce
4 tablespoons Braggs Liquid Aminos
1 tablespoon rice wine vinegar
2 tablespoons freshly grated ginger
1 (8-ounce) can sliced water chestnuts, drained and diced
2 green onions, thinly sliced
Bunch of Romaine lettuce

Directions

Heat olive oil in a large saucepan over medium high heat. Add ground chicken and cook until browned, about 3-5 minutes, making sure to crumble the chicken as it cooks; drain excess fat. Stir in garlic, onion, hoisin sauce, soy sauce, rice wine vinegar,and ginger until onions have become translucent, about 1-2 minutes. Stir in chestnuts and green onions until tender, about 1-2 minutes.
To serve, spoon several tablespoons of the chicken mixture into the center of  lettuce leaf, taco-style or if you are like me onto your plate.  Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Asian Chicken Lettuce Wraps

Leave a Reply

