One Bowl Healthy Coffee Cake

One Bowl Healthy Coffee Cake via LashesandDashesAfter spending most of the day making homemade bread I decided to make a simple One Bowl Coffee Cake for dessert. I used my Great Grandma’s recipe for Chocolate Applesauce Coffee Cake but made it a little healthier. Even though I never met my Great Grandma I just know we would have been kindred spirits. When I look through her old tattered Cookbook I see where I get my love of sweets from!

Original Recipe

One Bowl Healthy Coffee Cake via LashesandDashes

My Recipe

One Bowl Healthy Coffee Cake via LashesandDashes

All of the dry ingredients in the bowl.

One Bowl Healthy Coffee Cake via LashesandDashes

Topping spread on top of batter.

Ingredients 

1 1/2 cups Unbleached Flour (you could also use Whole Wheat)

1/4  cup of Sugar or sugar substitute of your choice

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup applesauce

1/2 cup water

1/4 cup Greek Yogurt

1 TBS vinegar

2 tsp Vanilla

Topping

1 TBS melted butter

1/4 cup brown sugar

Directions

Preheat oven to 350. In a large bowl put all of the dry ingredients, mix together. Stir in wet ingredients continue until dry ingredients are moist. Grease 8×8 square baking dish, scoop half of batter in dish, spoon half of the topping onto the batter, scoop the rest of batter into the dish and spread the rest of the topping onto the batter. Using a spatula spread the topping so that it covers the batter. Bake for 35-40 minutes.  It is super moist and will become a favorite in your house!

 

4 thoughts on “One Bowl Healthy Coffee Cake

  1. Great job! It is so easy to re-make tasty favorites. My grandma had this delicious Apple Betty recipe she would make every holiday. I healthified it and found that it was even tastier when I took away the empty nutrition ingredients.

Leave a Reply

